History of the villages of Burpham and Wepham
The villages of Burpham and Wepham, where Arundel view is located, has a long and rich history. The area was first settled 6000 years ago by Neolithic man, and later, around 4000 years ago, farmers were attracted to the area by its lush lands. In 600BC, during the Iron Age, a defensive fort was built at Burpham on or near the Saxon Fort site.
The name of Burpham itself derives from the Saxon Burh that King Alfred set up to protect the southern coasts from the marauding Vikings. The fort was built on an Iron Age headland though most indicators point to being of Saxon origin, as mentioned in the Burghal Hidage of 919.
Arundel View cottage
Arundel view cottage itself also has a long and intriguing history. The cottage ( 105, Burpham Road, Wepham) was originally a pair of cottages numbered 105 and 106 that dates from at least the 17th century. The cottage’s most infamous resident was Jack Upperton, who robbed the local mail boy in 1770, which ended in his demise.
Other famous residents of the area include Mervyn Peake, a novelist and illustrator, who moved to Wepham and Joseph Mallord William Turner, who visited Arun Valley on multiple occasions and painted Arundel Castle, on the River Arun, which features at the TATE museum.
After Arundel view cottage was once a cottage for agricultural labourers, it is now a highly desirable residence where the unspoilt nature of the settlements of Burpham and Wepham have attracted their fair share of writers and artists.